I’m none but a slave

What am I if not a slave?
I cook, clean and mourn;
I wash, sweep and weep
from dawn to fall of night.

I do nothing but cooking;
I cook all day,
three times a day,
from dawn to fall of night.

What’re you if not a master?
You eat, teach and cheat;
you write, drink and sleep
from dawn to fall of night.

For three long decades,
I’ve cleaned your dishes:
empty, dirty dishes
from dawn to fall of night.

What’s marriage if not serfdom?
You are my master;
I am merely a slave.
You do your part; I mine,

from dawn to fall of night
and back to break of day.

Posted on Poet’s Corner on December 9, 2016.
https://poetscornerblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/09/im-none-but-a-slave/#more-222483

2 thoughts on “I’m none but a slave

Leave a Reply

