Thou art their mother

This poem is a translation to late Sri Lankan iconic singer Pandit W. D. Amaradeva’s song, ‘Thaatthaa unath maa’ – though I’ m  (their) father.

newborn-659685__180

Though I’m their father that sets their bread,
thou art their mother that careth them all.

When night and day harder thou workst,
while giving that love, that I used to own,
to the children of mine, love fills my heart
greater than the day I met thee first,
and gets me closer and closer to thy heart.

When sitst thee beside and kiss’t my head,
fragrance of thine, that’s oft smelt
on the face of my son, maketh me devoted
to the temple of thine, and then I feel
not thee as my lover, but a great, great mother.

Photo: Pixabay

One thought on “Thou art their mother

Leave a Reply

