Mother, the Fountain of Love

KiriAmma

Mother, the fountain of love,

I’m the dear son of yours.

On the future day of your Buddhahood,

I would follow you seeking your refuge,

holding your fingers as Rahua, once, did.

You washed my mouth with milky water

that you’d dissolved the moon with.

You fondled and lulled me into a sleep

with the divine manthra of your lullabies;

my life you created out of your own,

and you nursed me, dear mother of mine.

Documents_0030.png

Keeping me in the comfort of your lap

and reshaping my hands and legs,

you had me sleep on a bed of roses.

In my dreams, I smell your divine milk;

my life you created out of your own

and you nursed me, dear mother of mine.

 

(January 5, 2015: my own translation to Victor Rathnayaka’s song, “A:daraye: ulpatha wu: amma”. Though I tried my best to translate it as close as possible to the original version, my translation went astray at several places proving the common idea that poetry is untranslatable. Therefore, this translation needs further editing.)

Leave a Reply

